All Time Coloratura

I Heart Ruggero Raimondi

Posted in Opera Movies, Thoughts on Opera by cToronto on June 27, 2010

When I was first getting into opera, Ruggero Raimondi was my guide, at first without my really realizing it. In the beginning I wasn’t paying much attention to the names on the CD covers, but once I started paying attention I realized he was on all my favourite recordings. I started off with Puccini, and Raimondi was there on the 1979 Carreras/Ricciarelli Tosca, as the smoothest evilest Scarpia out there. Then I moved on to Mozart, and Raimondi was there as a chocolate-tongued Don Giovanni and a Count Almaviva with gravitas. Then I started getting into the Russian rep and Raimondi was there in the Russianest opera of them all, Boris Godunov. Then I was interested in Rossini and Raimondi was there again in a variety of comic roles.

I probably first saw him in the Losey Don Giovanni, without really knowing who he was. Even though it’s “traditional” and straightforward in many ways, it’s still one of the stranger Don Giovannis I’ve encountered. Kiri te Kanawa’s clownish maternity costumes and caterpillar hats are fairly awful, there’s a device with a silent young overseeing man that never quite makes sense, and the finale is curiously understaged, with an inanimate statue placed in the centre of the room for Giovanni and Leporello to gesture at. The white subtitles become unreadable when superimposed on the (many) completely white costumes. The acting is confused and unnatural. And yes, I own it on DVD. The sound quality of this clip is poor, but you can still hear the tonal beauty.

I was obsessed with this 1992 live TV broadcast version of Tosca, a somewhat gimmicky production that involved setting each act in the building in Rome in which the story is set, at the time of day when the events are supposed to occur – the Sant’Andrea chapel in the afternoon, the Palazzo Farnese in the evening, and then the Castel Sant’Angelo the following morning. Many of the Scarpias I’ve seen play the role as aloof, calculating sociopaths; Raimondi allows a strange sort of vulnerability to creep into the character. His eyes are so full of raw hunger for Tosca that he looks like he might explode; he seems aware that his carefully-laid plans might spin out of control at any moment if he lets the force of his desire get the better of him. When he sings “Tosca, you make me forget God” he looks like he really means it.

And here he is in Carmen, as Escamillo:

And as a crazed and off-kilter Boris Godunov:

There’s a Yahoo fan group, where members keep track of his performances and, in some cases, make special trips just for the purpose of seeing him. I’ve never actually seen him on stage, which¬†my aborted trip to Berlin would have allowed me to do. I’m terrified he’ll retire before I get the chance.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gale said, on June 27, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I really liked Ruggiero in the Tosca clip–great sound quality, too. I saw that version of Don Giovanni. I too thought it was strange and strained–not to mention Zerlina is middle-aged and Ruggiero kind of looks like a vampire. Then Don Ottavio’s weird, surrealistic aria in the fields, walking over people, that goes on forever and ever. But the other clips were great. Thank you for putting them together.

    • Cecily said, on June 27, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      I love Mozart in general and Don Giovanni in particular, but I think Don Ottavio’s arias (especially Il Mio Tesoro) can be pretty boring. That whole field sequence made it even worse! Sigh. Such a flawed movie but I hold some affection for it all the same.

      I’m sure you’ve seen a bunch of DVD Giovannis as book research – are there any you like in particular?

  2. Gale said, on June 27, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I forgot to mention. He was stunning in the Carmen clip.

  3. Gale said, on June 27, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I didn’t really like any of the taped or filmed versions. Too conventional. Glyndebourne Opera’s was a snooze festival. However, I did see Don G. at NYC Opera this past fall and loved that version–edgy, post-modern, well sung and acted. A great theatrical experience.

  4. Gianna said, on July 8, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Losey’s Don Giovanni blew my mind when I was in my early teens and was a great part of how I came to opera! You have great taste. :)

    • Cecily said, on July 8, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      Coming to opera as a teenager is the best thing, I think. Things that would seem weird to a grown-up often become wonderful to a teenager. The Losey Giovanni is one of those things.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

